Untitled Document
Schedule V Substances MCL 333.7219, 7220
Possesion Schedule V
In Michigan a marijuana charge and sentence largely dependant on the amount you have when arrested. Also taken into consideration is the way it is packaged and the amount of cash on hand in relation to the possession at the time. However, if it appears that you just had enough for personal use, you may only be facing a possession charge.
Michigan law is unusual in that it includes separate penalties for the possession and use of marijuana. Possession of any amount of marijuana – whether several ounces or a single gram – is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. Separately, use of marijuana is also a misdemeanor, but punishable by 90 days in jail and a fine of not more than $100. Lastly, possession in or within 1,000 feet of a public or private park can land the offender in jail for up to 2 years.
Under Michigan Law if an officer has reason to believe that you have smoked or ingested any amount of marijuana they can arrest you and you can be given a blood test. If there is any trace amount of THC, you can be charged with operating while under the influence of druges( OWI.)
If this applies to your situation fill out the contact form! Or Call Alonzi Law at 248.779.7236
Schedule V Substances MCL 333.7219, 7220

Substances in this category have a very low risk of abuse, but the potential still exists. Many of these substances can be obtained over the counter.

  • Cold medicine with ephedrine
  • Cough syrups with Codein

  • Having any ammount of marijuana can get you Up to 1year in prison and $2000 in fines.

If you have been charged with possession of marijuana or a controlled substance it can be a frightening and life altering experience. Our attorneys are available to assist you in fighting to insure your rights under the law. We will work aggressively to prepare the best defense possible. Call to schedule an initial consultation.